Recipients Recognized For Their Groundbreaking Content

MIAMI, FL (January 17, 2017) – NATPE, the leading global marketplace and resource of television and platform executives, revealed the winners for the 3rd Annual NATPE Reality Breakthrough Awards. The winners were announced on the first day of the annual conference at a special luncheon ceremony hosted by Bob Saget at the Fontainebleau Resort.

The NATPE Reality Breakthrough Awards are designed to honor programs and people that “broke through the clutter” in the preceding year, as well as becoming part of the cultural conversation and generally altering the expectations of what constitutes a reality program. Growing upon the 2016 NATPE Reality Breakthrough Awards, the 2017 Awards offered an additional four categories and awarded the winners in the following nine categories: Documentary, Docusoap, Factual Entertainment, Game Shows, Reality Competition, Reality Hosts, Reality Personalities, Structured Reality, and Unstructured Reality.

The 3rd Annual NATPE Reality Breakthrough Awards Winners:

Category Show
Best DOCUMENTARY O.J.: Made in America
Best DOCUSOAP Chrisley Knows Best
Best FACTUAL ENTERTAINMENT Last Week Tonight with John Oliver 
Best GAME SHOW Hollywood Game Night
Best REALITY HOST Steve Harvey

The Blue Ribbon Panel of Judges:

Brett Hansen, Partner, Head of Alternative Television at United Talent Agency (UTA)

Chachi Senior, SVP, Original Programming at Spike TV

Corie Henson, EVP, Alternative Entertainment at 20th Century Fox Television Distribution

David Gross, Agent at Creative Artists Agency (CAA)

Denise Contis, EVP, Development and Production at Discovery

Eliot Goldberg, SVP of Nonfiction and Alternative Programming at AMC and SundanceTV

Jenny Groom, SVP, Alternative Programming & Development at NBCUniversal

Josh Pyatt, Partner at WME Entertainment

Lauren Gellert, EVP, Development & Original Programming at WEtv

Michael Bloom, SVP, Unscripted and Specials at TNT/TBS

Michael Kagan, Head of International Television and Media at ICM Partners

Nina Diaz, EVP and Head of Reality at VH1

Rob Mills, SVP, Alternative Series, Specials and Late Night at ABC Television Network

Rod Aissa, EVP, Original Programming and Development at Oxygen Media

Russ McCarroll, SVP, Development and Programming at History

Sean Zeid, Head of Domestic Alternative Television at Paradigm Talent Agency

Todd Christopher, Partner, Chief Strategy Officer at The Gersh Agency

More info regarding the awards can be found on the conference website at NATPE Reality.

With more than 350 global companies exhibiting and 1,100 buyers from Europe, Latin America, Asia and North America, NATPE attracts over 5,000 senior executives from every corner of the industry. This year, the NATPE Conference will have a new look and theme – “Be A Part of It” – where top creatives and executives from across production, advertising, distribution, music and more gather for the three full days of high-level deal-making, panels, networking, parties and meetups. NATPE is the first of the year content-driven show and a must-attend event for content distributors and platforms. More details on conference programming, including confirmed speakers, can be found at


Celebrating 54 years of service to the ever-evolving global television industry, NATPE inspires the growth and success of content development, creation, production, financing and distribution across all platforms through interdependent marketplaces where industry powers gather to offer insight and make deals. NATPE is the leader in developing international markets and conferences for the entire spectrum of the dynamic content business. For more information, please visit

#  #  #

Press Contacts:
Kevin Broderick/Megan Levy
The Lippin Group/LA
 Debbie Lawrence
The Lippin Group/London
+44 203 008 5406